Concealed Carry Permit Information

b4134a80-7248-4bf8-a5a2-37b5026bf12a


Qualified individuals wishing to obtain a license to lawfully carry a concealed handgun may call the Meigs County Sheriff's Office to make an appointment for processing of their application. Please see "Hours of Operations" for appointment times. At the time of processing your application will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Fingerprints will be taken and submitted to Bureau of Criminal Investigation & Identification for a background check and the FBI if you have not been a resident of Ohio for at least 5 years. Within 45 days after your application is processed you will receive notice to pick up your CCW license. If there are any problems with your application you will be notified by mail. 

FIRST TIME APPLICANTS
If you are applying for the FIRST TIME, you need the following:
  • Current Application
  • Original Training Certificate and one photo copy
  • Current Ohio Driver's License or Ohio State ID
  • Current "Ohio's Concealed Carry Law" book (we can provide one if you do not have it)
  • One Color Passport Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
  • For fees please check below
  • At least 21 years of age

*NOTE: Failure to provide the required documentation at the time of appointment, your appointment will be rescheduled.


RENEWING YOUR APPLICATION
 
If you are RENEWING your current license, you will need the following:
  • Current Application
  • Current Ohio Driver's License or Ohio State ID
  • Current Concealed Handgun License
  • One Color Passport Photo (taken within the last 30 days)
  • For fees please check below

*NOTE: Upon renewal, you cannot apply prior to 90 days from your current expiration.



NOTE: An Applicant who knowingly gives a false answer to any question or submits false information on, or a false document with the application may be prosecuted for FALSIFICATION TO OBTAIN A CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE. A FELONY of the FOURTH DEGREE, in violation of section 2921.13 of the Ohio Revised Code.